Winners 2018

15 September | Grosvenor House Hotel

2018 Winners & shortlists

Best Innovation

Winner : Mace, Rising Factory


  • Balfour Beatty Ground Engineering, Single Guidewall and Cantilevered Equipment for Diaphragm Wall Construction
  • Doka UK Formwork Technologies, Dokadek Systemised Hand-Set Slab Panel
  • Gas Safe Europe, Detectagas
  • Glazesafe, Stronghold Bridge
  • J Murphy and Sons, Innovating the Cable Laying Process
  • Lucas, Lucas Innovations
  • Van Elle Rail, The Track Bed Stabilisation Smartpile and the SPIRIT RRV Mast
Best Residential Developer

Sponsored by:


Winner : Galliford Try Partnerships

Highly Commended: HUB

Finalists : 

  • Bewley Homes
  • Branley Homes
  • Churchill Retirement Living
  • Lendlease
  • St. Modwen Homes
Best Use of Technology


Winner : Converge, Real-time Concrete Monitoring

Highly Commended :  Nomenca, Off Site Build - Skilled Assembly in a Factory Environment SAFE

Finalists : 

  • Bam Construct UK, Bam's Future Office
  • Glider Technology, GliderBIM implementation for One New Street Square
  • Lucas, Lucas Use of Technology
  • Midland Metro Alliance, The Midland Metro Alliance Geographical Information System
  • PiLON, PiLON 'Customer Portal'
  • Ramboll, Dynamic Masterplanning
BIM Excellence

Sponsored by:


Winner :  Stantec Treatment

Highly Commended :   Graham

Finalists : 

  • High Speed 2
  • Kier
  • Majenta Solutions
  • NG Bailey
  • voestalpine Metsec
  • Willmott Dixon
  • Willmott Dixon Interiors
Community Engagement Project of the Year

Winner :  Graham, Dalbeattie Learning Campus

Finalists : 

  • BCM Construction, BCM Cable Drum Tables for Primary Schools
  • ENGIE, Love and Tolerance
  • Farrans Construction and Victor Buyck, Northern Spire Bridge
  • Jackson Civil Engineering, Build Your Future - Jackson's Employment & Skills Initiative
  • Kier, Garnock Community Campus
  • Kier, Refurbishment of Sussex Arms Welfare Centre, Baker Barracks
  • Wates Group, Kirkstall Forge, Leeds
Construction Consultancy of the Year

Winner :  Webb Yates Engineers

Finalists : 

  • Aecom
  • Bond Davidson
  • Cundall
  • Eckersley O'Callaghan
  • Peter Brett Associates
  • Pick Everard
  • WSP
Contractor of the Year

Sponsored by:




Winner :  Gilbert-Ash

Finalists : 

  • Canary Wharf Contractors
  • Graham
  • Metnor Construction
  • Robertson Group
  • Wates Group
  • Willmott Dixon
Diversity and Inclusion Excellence

Winner :  Amey

Highly Commended :  Lendlease Construction Europe

Finalists : 

  • Arcadis
  • Colas
  • Kier
Environmental Contractor of the Year

Sponsored by:


Winner : Sir Robert McAlpine

Highly Commended :  Keltbray Environmental

Finalists : 

  • Aarsleff Ground Engineering
  • Bam Construct UK
  • Canary Wharf Contractors
  • Mott MacDonald
  • Wates Group
Health, Safety and Wellbeing Excellence (Company)

Sponsored by:


Winner :  Jacobs

Finalists : 

  • Anglian Water @one Alliance
  • BCM Construction
  • Network Rail
  • O'Donovan Waste Disposal
  • Van Elle
  • Wates Group
  • Wilson James
Health, Safety and Wellbeing Excellence (Project)


Winner :  Interserve Construction, Piazza Learning Centre

Highly Commended :  Costain Skanska JV, Crossrail C412 Bond Street Station

Finalists : 

  • AMK, Deephams STW
  • Costain Skanska JV, Crossrail C360 Shafts and Headhouses
  • J Murphy and Sons, Nemo Link
  • Kier, R7
  • mac-Group, One Cathedral Square, Bristol.
  • Toppesfield, Mind Yourself Cultural Behavioural Safety Programme
International Project of the Year

Winner :  Skanska UK, New Karolinska Solna, Stockholm, Sweden

Finalists : 

  • DeSimone Consulting Engineers, Grove at Grand Bay, Florida, USA
  • Ege Grup Yapı Endüstrisi, Maidan, Ankara, Turkey
  • Galliford Try, Camogli Health Care Centre, Tristan da Cunha
  • Mace, CLN1, Clonee, Ireland
  • PMKConsult, 3D Printed Office of the Future, Dubai
  • Turner International, Kaplankaya Phase 1, Turkey
Project of the Year (under £15m)

Sponsored by:



Winner :  VolkerFitzpatrick, Stratford Retaining Wall

Highly Commended :  Gilbert-Ash, City of London Freemen’s School Swimming Pool

Finalists : 

  • Dudley College Alliance Team, Advance II
  • Galliford Try Partnerships and The Guinness Partnership, Quayside Extra Care
  • Henry Brothers Midlands, Loughborough University, STEMLab
  • Kier, Sensor City
  • Portakabin, Kensington Aldridge Academy (KAA2)
  • Robertson Group, North Uist Primary School, Outer Hebrides
  • Willmott Dixon, Schuster Annexe, University of Manchester
Project of the Year (£15m - £30m)

Sponsored by:




Winner :  Kier, South Gloucestershire and Stroud College (SGS) Berkeley Green and UTC

Finalists : 

  • Interserve Construction, Piazza Learning Centre
  • ISG, Health Services Laboratories
  • Kier, Ayr Academy
  • Kier, Sheraton Park Student Accommodation Durham
  • Morgan Sindall, Glenwood School
  • Robertson Group, The Restoration of Perth Theatre
  • Willmott Dixon, Sibson Building for University of Kent
Project of the Year (over £30m)

Winner: Transport Scotland, Queensferry Crossing

Highly commendedKier, Storyhouse

Finalists : 

  • Bam Construction, Curtis Green - New Scotland Yard
  • Galliford Try, Royal Birmingham Conservatoire
  • Kier, R7
  • Kier, Samsung C&T and FCC Construcción, Mersey Gateway
  • The Thameslink Programme, Network Rail, Thameslink Programme - Railway Systems
  • Wates Construction, Vita York
Rising Star

Sponsored by:




Winner: Jonathan May, Stantec Treatment

Highly Commended: 

  • Roseanna Bloxham, RSK Group
  • Rebecca Wade, Kier


  • Cameron Bell, A14 Integrated Delivery Team / Skanska UK
  • Gareth Bevins, Turner & Townsend
  • Jonathan Hardisty, Turner & Townsend
  • Najwa Jawahar, WSP
  • Lianne Lawson, Wilmott Dixon
  • Jeanette McLean, Walker Construction UK
  • Neeraj Kumar Sharma, Atkins - Part of SNC Lavalin
  • Rachel Toor, Shaylor Group
  • Richard Wood, Turner & Townsend
Specialist Contractor of the Year

Sponsored by:


Winner: Keltbray Group

Highly CommendedSES Engineering Services


  • Lee Marley Brickwork
  • M Lambe Construction
  • NG Bailey
  • Reconomy
  • Skanska UK (Utilities Team)
  • Styles&Wood
Supply Chain Excellence

Winner : A14 Integrated Delivery Team


  • BNM Alliance / Severn Trent Water
  • DataScope Systems / Munnelly / Canary Wharf Contractors
  • Jackson Civil Engineering / MWay Comms / Connect Plus Services
  • Midland Metro Alliance
  • Supply Chain Sustainability School
  • The Sovini Group
Sustainable Project of the Year

Sponsored by:






Winner: Lendlease Construction Europe, South Gardens, Elephant Park

Highly Commended: Multiplex Construction Europe, White Collar Factory


  • B&K Structures, Dalston Lane
  • Kier, Elliott's Field Shopping Park Phase 2
  • Sir Robert McAlpine, Bloomberg London
  • The Thameslink Programme, Network Rail, London Bridge Station Redevelopment Project
  • Verto Homes, Island Reach
Training Excellence

Sponsored by:





Winner: Tideway, in partnership with ATT (Active Training Team)


  • Keltbray Group
  • Kier
  • Laing O'Rourke
  • National Grid
  • Natta Building Company
  • Network Rail
  • NG Bailey
  • O'Donovan Waste Disposal
The Sir Michael Latham Award

Supported by





Winner: Mace, Rising Factory

By continuing to use the site you agree to our cookies policy. Accept